Dallas Regional Chamber

left right
  • Young Professionals
  • Leadership Dallas
  • Leadership Dallas Alumni
  • Executive Women's Roundtable
  • Welcoming New Executives Program
  • Young Professionals Events
  • Young Professionals Blog
  • Leadership Events
  • Leadership Blog
  • ATHENA® Award

    ATHENA Award and Young Professional Leadership ATHENA Award celebrates women who achieve excellence in their professions, serve the community in a meaningful way, and help other women reach their full potential.

left right


ATHENA® Award and Young Professional Leadership ATHENA® Award celebrates women who achieve excellence in their professions, serve the community in a meaningful way, and help other women reach their full potential.

ATHENA® Awards nominations are now closed.

The ATHENA® Awards will be presented at the DRC’s Women’s Business Conference on April 28, 2017. If you have any questions, please contact Nicole Fain at Athena@dallaschamber.org or 214.746.6795.


The ATHENA® Award, presented by Wells Fargo, is an international program that recognizes the accomplishments of local businesswomen in their professions and community.

ATHENA criteria:

  • Exemplifies excellence, creativity, and initiative in her business and profession
  • Provides valuable service by contributing time and energy to improve the quality of life for others in the community
  • Actively assists women in realizing their full leadership potential

Presented by:


Young Professionals Leadership ATHENA® Award

The Young Professionals Leadership (YPL) ATHENA® Award recognizes an emerging female leader under the age of 40 who demonstrates excellence in her profession and provides valuable service to other young women in the community.

YPL ATHENA criteria:

  • Demonstrates an ambitious drive to achieve the highest level of professional accomplishment
  • Commits to serving the community in a meaningful way
  • Clearly serves as a personal and professional role model for young women


ATHENA® International

The ATHENA® Leadership Program Award recognizes exceptional women who excel in their careers, contribute to their communities and develop women leaders. This annual award is presented by chambers of commerce, women’s organizations and universities worldwide. Since 1982, more than 6,000 awards have been presented in over 500 communities in the United States, Canada, China, Russia, the United Arab Emirates, and most recently, the United Kingdom.

ATHENA® Award recipients demonstrate eight remarkable characteristics: living authentically; learning constantly; advocating fiercely; acting courageously; fostering collaboration; building relationships; giving back and celebrating.

Past recipients of the Dallas awards are:

  • 2015 – Maribess Miller, Texas State Board of Public Accountancy (ATHENA® ) & Lauren Mutti, Jackson Walker LLP (ATHENA® YPL)
  • 2014 – Kathleen LaValle, Dallas CASA (ATHENA®) & Suzanne Smith, Social Impact Architects and Flywheel (ATHENA® YPL)
  • 2013 – Hattie Hill, Women’s Foodservice Forum ((ATHENA®) & Sara Duran, Sidley Austin LLP (ATHENA® YPL)
  • 2012 – Judge Barbara Lynn, United States District Judge for the Northern District of Texas (ATHENA®) & Amanda L. Bush, Jackson Walker LLP (ATHENA® YPL)
  • 2011 – Anne Motsenbocker, Chase (ATHENA®) & Jasmin Brand, Brandpointe (ATHENA® YPL)
  • 2010 – Carol Roehrig, BKM Total Office of Texas
  • 2009 – Catherine Rodewald, Prudential Asset Resources and Prudential Mortgage Capital Company
  • 2008 – Suzanne Charriere, Corgan Associates (formerly)
  • 2007 – Wanda Brice, The Women’s Museum (formerly)
  • 2006 – Wendy Lopez, LOPEZGARCIAGROUP (formerly)
  • 2005 – Becky Sykes, Dallas Women’s Foundation (formerly)
  • 2004 – Camille Keith, Southwest Airlines (formerly)
  • 2003 – Retta Miller, Jackson Walker L.L.P.
  • 2002 – Valerie Freeman, Imprimis Group
  • 2001 – Liz Minyard, Minyard Food Stores (formerly)
  • 2000 – Grace McDermott, US Pan Asian American Chamber of Commerce
  • 1999 – Brenda Jackson, TXU Electric Delivery (formerly)
  • 1998 – Gale Duff-Bloom, JCPenney Company, Inc. (formerly)
  • 1997 – Norma Lea Beasley, SAFECO Texas
  • 1996 – Jinger Heath, BeautiControl Cosmetics (formerly)
  • 1995 – Tegwin Pulley, Texas Instruments (formerly)

Latest Leadership Blog Posts

  • Leadership Dallas Forum: Health Care Industry Experts Give Insights to Past, Future Challenges Read the Post
  • LDA Focuses on the Future with Mayor Read the Post
  • 2016 Chamber YP Summit Breaks Down Walls, Builds Connections Read the Post

Contact Us

  • Dallas Regional Chamber
  • Call Us 214-746-6600
  • 500 N. Akard Street
  • Suite 2600
  • Dallas, Texas 75201
  • Staff Directory